SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe Review

SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe Review

Sentry-Safe-Logo

September is Child Safety Month. Although a pistol safe isn’t a typical “child safety” item that would immediately come to mind like a baby monitor, it can be a life saver… literally.

I recently contacted SentrySafe in response to a local incident. A 3 year old child found his Dad’s pistol and accidentally shot (and killed) his sibling while playing with it. With my husband’s line of work, we have had a pistol in the house for 20+ years. Up until recently we had been relying on pistol locks and keeping the gun on a high shelf, but in an emergency a pistol lock can be clumsy and the key may be on the other side of the room.

DSC_0008

The Sentry Safe Quick Access Pistol Safe is one of the best products I have found on the market with the attributes I was looking for. This safe offers features such as a zero feedback electronic lock and compression gas strut allowing you to quickly defend your home when seconds count. Engineered with a solid steel, pry-resistant door, your home and family are protected by the most secure pistol safe SentrySafe has ever made.

DSC_0012

This safe can be opened by pressing a programmed series of buttons or with the key. In an emergency situation the buttons are in a great location and easily found then pushed… even in the dark. There is plenty of space inside for my husband’s concealed weapon as well as a duty pistol.

Some of the amazing selling points that convinced me this was the safe for us…Screen shot 2012-09-25 at 5.01.04 PM

Screen shot 2012-09-25 at 5.02.03 PM

Screen shot 2012-09-25 at 5.02.50 PM
 

Amazing, right? But my main concern over all of the “emergency” talk is the safety of my inquisitive children. They can bang on this safe, push the buttons to their hearts content and will never know where we keep the key which means they will never accidentally discharge Daddy’s gun.

 

Learn more in the product walk-through video below.

BUY IT:

You can purchase the SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe at your local Home Depot, WalMart, Costco, Bi-Mart and Academy Sports Outdoors.

WIN IT:

ONE OurKidsMom reader is going to win a SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe!

Screen shot 2012-09-25 at 5.27.26 PM

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 
 

Rules:You do not have to be a blogger to enter/win. An email address is required to enter. The winner will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter and contacted via email. A reply to the winning email is required within 48 hours before a new winner is chosen. One person entering per household please. US ONLY please.

This giveaway ends at 11:59 PM EST on October 17, 2012.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” The opinions expressed in this post are entirely my own. Your experience with the product may differ from mine. The sponsor is responsible for prize fulfillment and will be shipping the winner(s) their prize(s). For more information read my disclosure policy.

Comments

  1. Claire says:

    I’d like the 0500 FIRE CHEST

  2. erika m says:

    I like how quick and easy the safes can be opened while still being secure – had envisioned difficult/time-consuming combination or key lock – wow, has technology improved things!

    • K.Pugh says:

      1150 White Safe.
      Thanks for the chance.

  3. Rachel Robertson (Azrael) says:

    I really like that it’s quiet and can be opened one handed so it’s quick and easy

  4. I love that the safe can be opened one handed!

  5. I like the quiet features that are available. Especially at night everything is louder, so quick, quiet access is important.

  6. Cheryl Bravo says:

    I like the fact that it is super quick to get open and that it open quietly.

  7. Adele says:

    My husband really wants to get a gun and get a conceal and carry license, but with 2 small kids in the house I was very uncomfortable, this makes it seem like it really would keep the kids out and I could rest easier….

  8. Breezy Moyer says:

    I want this gun safe. My husband would use it!

  9. Sue Ellison says:

    The Keep/Safe® -KS4100 would be another item I could use.

  10. Kristin Miller says:

    I like that this safe has a pry-resistant door to help prevent unauthorized access.

  11. Cynthia Teer says:

    You can purchase the SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe at your local Home Depot,

  12. Sandy VanHoey says:

    I like the Fire-Safe-GM12459E for guns. My daughter wants to get a safe for her husbands guns for Christmas

  13. Marcy Taylor says:

    I like the key-less entry for it making it quick to get in.

  14. Kimberly Schotz says:

    I like the 0500 Fire Chest
    kims2312@verizon.net

  15. Tabitha Pyle says:

    I’d like the KS2100 KEEP/SAFE® FIRE CHEST

  16. Jennifer B says:

    Could also use the CB-12 Safebox

  17. Darcie K. says:

    I like the H2100 Waterproof Chest

  18. Sara Popp says:

    Would love this! With my husband’s profession, we also have guns in the house. This would be great to add extra safety!

  19. Krabbman says:

    I like the SentrySafe GM1055E Electronic Lock Gun Safe.

  20. I learned it only takes one hand to enter the safe!

  21. Love how easy it looks to open one handed…we could really use this!

  22. jessica says:

    it’s nice that it’s quiet and quick and easy. love that it’s one handed!

  23. Rachel M says:

    I am a very paranoid personal to begin with, but having a gun makes me super paranoid. Like you mentioned above that is my worse nightmare. I would get some relief with this.

  24. courtney hennagir says:

    i love this! my ex has a gun in his house and it makes me very nervous when our son is over there.this would help ease those nerves and give him a place to keep it while still having it readily available.

  25. Audra Weathers says:

    I also like the Gun Safe-GM1055E that can hold 10 long-guns. Such a great Christmas idea for anyone who hunts!

  26. Stephanie Phelps says:

    I would also love to have the KS4100 KEEP/SAFE®

  27. Heather R says:

    I like that it has quiet entry and can be done one handed in emergencies

  28. Christina G says:

    I learned that it unlocks quietly!

  29. Sarah says:

    Thank you! Great features for safety, but also accessibility if necessary.

  30. nicole lewis says:

    i like how it can be opened quickly in an emergency

  31. joanne major says:

    i like how easily you can open it if some burglar is in your house

  32. Crystal says:

    Would like to win one for our household!

  33. tina m says:

    I like the quick quiet entry

  34. Kasee Johnson says:

    The Waterproof Fire Chest-HD2100 looks like exactly what I need for peace-of-mind. We live in a manufactured home, but we had extensive flood damage when a 220 gallon fish tank had a pump malfunction. Thank goodness all my files were kept in the closet at the other end of the house instead of the closet behind the tank!

  35. Angella says:

    I really like the 7150 wall safe. Small and convenient, would be perfect for me.

  36. Robin Quick says:

    I learned that this safe is specifically designed with a pry-resistant door that helps prevent unauthorized access to your firearm.

  37. Stacey Roberson says:

    I like this product has a quick and quiet entry.

    Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  38. Megan says:

    I like that it opens quietly.

  39. I wouldn’t need this, we are a gun free house but I have a friend that could. Her husband owns guns and they keep them locked up tight but I always wonder if someone broke in their house how would they get everything together? I mean the intruder has their weapon ready, they are not going to say ” Oh, wait a minute, I will let you get your gun together so it will be a fair fight” . This would be perfect for them!

  40. shannon oelrich says:

    i would love this safe for my gun

  41. judi says:

    I love the quick access feature. When using a firearm for home security it doesn’t provide much security if getting it out takes forever in an emergency.

  42. amy marantino says:

    i like that you can open it with one hand

  43. Peggy says:

    I like the Guardian Storage Box-GB20L boxes too.

  44. Laura says:

    I like the 1180 fire file!

  45. tracy p says:

    I like the 1150 Fire Chest

  46. Kyle says:

    I’d like to have the SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe. I carry concealed everyday and just lay it on the dresser every night, but we don’t have kids right now. The Quick Access Pistol Safe would not deter me from carrying daily or from keeping it locked up because it is simple and quick to get into.

  47. Heather says:

    Perfect for keeping the kids and family safe.

  48. misty farmer says:

    That Pistel safe is the neatest thing ever! Knowin u can even whisper to it and it will open in case of emergancies! My father had passed on in October and left me our family pistel, this would be great to have for it!

  49. melina r says:

    Would like to have Fire Chest-0500.

  50. Colleen Maurina says:

    I would also like to have their KS2100 KEEP/SAFE Fire Chest.

  51. Carolyn Ann Colley (Griffith, Smith) says:

    I like the
    FIRE-SAFE® File-4B2100

  52. Margaret Smith says:

    I also like the Electronic FIRE-SAFE® -CSW5840 SecurityFireWater

  53. I would love to win this.

  54. Susan says:

    I like the Quick & Whisper quiet entry. My son keeps a gun beside his bed at all timws and I would feel a lot better if he had this.

  55. Brian says:

    The pistol safe would be my choice, since I just have 1 handgun to secure.

  56. polly says:

    i would like to have their fire safe file 2B2100

  57. Jennifer W. says:

    I love that you can register your safes online to be able to retrieve any combinations in case of forgetfulness or loss.

  58. Auri Lae says:

    I love that you can register your safes online to be able to retrieve any combinations in case of forgetfulness or loss.

    ^ Whoops, forgot to post with my rafflecopter info! That was me 🙂

  59. julie cutshaw says:

    I learned that you can buy the items at walmart & I like the deluxe safe box, many great items that they offer, thanks
    http://www.sentrysafe.com/Products/79/DCB-1_Deluxe_Safebox
    sewitupjuie@gmail.com

  60. Carole Ingram says:

    I think this is so super important in case of a break in : Quick & Whisper quiet entry! You don’t want your intruders to hear you get your gun!

  61. carol roberts says:

    KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest – KS2100 i like this

  62. Suzanne B says:

    I like the key-less entry because I am always forgetting where I hide the key.

  63. Kristi C says:

    I like the SF123ES Electronic FIRE-SAFE®.

  64. Eileen says:

    My family is a hunting one so I rate Sentry very high to protect from firearms. I’d love this HUGE gun safe

    http://www.sentrysafe.com/Products/310/GS3659C_Fire-Safe_36_Gun_

    thank you!

  65. Danielle says:

    I like how it can be opened quickly in an emergency.

  66. Sherry S. says:

    I like the 0500 Fire Chest too.

  67. Fawn H says:

    I would like the Keep Safe Fire Chest KS2100

  68. Wow…this whole post and the Sentry website really got me thinking. We don’t keep a concealed weapon in our home, but my sister does, and she doesn’t have a place like this to stow it safely away. As my children get older, this will actually become more of a safety issue for them when they visit. Thank you so much for bringing this product to my attention!

  69. Karen says:

    I want the Fire Chest-1200Pink. Thanks for the giveaway.

  70. Tari Lawson says:

    I would like the FIRE-SAFE® Chest-KD2100LT.

  71. mary fanara coleman says:

    I like the Combination FIRE-SAFE® -SF123CS

  72. Sarah Osborne says:

    I learned that it is engineered with a solid steel, pry-resistant door.

  73. Ellen B says:

    I actually like the prize you are giving away – this would be great for my son – also like the big bolts safe

  74. Sarah L says:

    SFW123CS COMBINATION FIRE-SAFE®
    Thanks for the contest.

  75. D Schmidt says:

    I learned their items are sold at Costco, Walmart and Home Depot

  76. Jennifer Reed says:

    I also think the Fire File-1180 from SentrySafe looks very useful.
    reejen at comcast dot net

  77. carey says:

    SFW123CS COMBINATION FIRE-SAFE

  78. Brittany Poole says:

    I would like the Security Safe – X075.

  79. Bethany M says:

    I learned you can get these at Costco

  80. Monique Rizzo says:

    I like that you can enter the safe with one hand.
    Thanks for the chance.
    mogrill12@gmail.com

  81. amanda roach says:

    i like how the password works.

  82. Ann Fantom says:

    I learned that Sentry Safe is run out of their global headquarters and manufacturing facilities in Rochester, NY and Cannelton, IN.

  83. William Patterson says:

    I learned that I can pick up a safe at Home Depot, Walmart or Costco. All of which I shop.

  84. I like that it featers a “whisper quiet” entrie. Makes u feel safer instead of a big click and sound as to alert a burglar you have a gun. I also just like the idea of a gun being im,possable for a child to play with!

  85. Catie says:

    I’d love to have the Executive 10-Gun Safe!

  86. Lena Naef says:

    I like the ESB-3 Electronic Security Box

  87. Michelle S says:

    The Keep/Safe KS4100 is something else I would like.

  88. Elena Vo says:

    I like that I don’t have to use both hands to open it.

  89. Sarah L says:

    KS2100 KEEP/SAFE® FIRE CHEST
    Thanks for the contest.

  90. Joana A says:

    i like the security safe x055

  91. Sarah S. says:

    I like that they also have firesafes. I worry about our important documents and pictures.

  92. Michele L. says:

    I”d love to get the Compact Safe-P005CBlack

  93. Chelsey says:

    I would like the 1200 Pink Fire Chest.

  94. Laura Love says:

    I like that the safe has a solid steel, pry-resistant door, so that it is safe from kids or intruders.

  95. JLin says:

    I like the Fire chest 1200 pink.

  96. mell says:

    I like the Keep Safe Fire Chest KS2100

  97. LeeAnn says:

    I seriously want this pistol safe, but I would also like to have the KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest-KS2100.

  98. Amber says:

    I could use this, I recently purchased a gun for protection and could use a nice case to put it in to keep the young ones safe. I leave it up out of reach and hidden but you just never know.

  99. Amber says:

    I like the fact that you can get cases without keys because I can just picture myself fumbling for the key.

  100. Lisa F. says:

    I like the long term Guardian Storage Box-GB20L.

  101. Laura Miller says:

    I like the X075 Security Safe.

  102. Shana says:

    GM2459E – We need one of these! We are storing guns for 2 of our kids. I’d feel better if I had them safe!
    Something that holds 24 guns sounds like a lot, but it would be holding guns for at least 4 people & would have lots of room.

  103. Ashley S says:

    I like the quiet entry

  104. Becky says:

    I really like that it’s easily opened with one hand and still able to be over ridden with a key, all while keeping my little ones inquisitive little hands off my fire arms

  105. Kelly D says:

    I want the 2460 FIRE-SAFE® Document Chest

  106. I would love this gun safe. My husband wants to buy a hand gun and we need one of these first!

  107. Tabathia B says:

    I like the DS-1 DRAWER SAFE

  108. Brent says:

    I like the 10 gun electronic lock safe

  109. Tina says:

    I love that it can be opened one-handed. that is great.

  110. Jenny Lloyd says:

    i would love to have the electronic fire safe
    http://www.sentrysafe.com/Products/199/CS3803__Electronic__FIRE-SAFE_

  111. Darlene Ysaguirre says:

    I Love how safe it keeps the gun but also that it can be opened quickyly in case of threat

  112. Ingerlise Pietromartire says:

    I love the fact that I could easily find and operate the buttons in the dark and the “whisper quiet entry” (don’t want to give away where we are to an intruder).

  113. Amanda Alvarado says:

    I like the KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest-KS2100

  114. Christy says:

    I like the KEEP/SAFE® Combination Safe-KS0130

  115. Maggie N King says:

    I like the electronic security safe

  116. Michelle Frame says:

    I would love to have the 0500 Fire Chest

  117. kelly says:

    I like how quietly it can be opened.

  118. Kyl Neusch says:

    the safe can be opened one handed

  119. My husband would love one handed whisper quiet open! The one he has now is old and it is a combination lock AND code! It takes forever to get in his safe…I keep several hidden baseball bats in the house…just in case he can’t get in that safe 🙂

  120. Heather! says:

    I like their line of Cash and Key boxes. I could really use one for things like our birth certificates, Social Security cards, passports, etc. I really like the DCB-1 Deluxe Safebox.

    Thanks!
    h4schaffer at gmail dot com

  121. krista grandstaff says:

    I like that I can pick this up at home depot…I know of several people I’d like to get this for as a holiday gift… I can always secure my house, but I have no idea what is going on next door, etc… I’d like to give this so I can feel better about my kids being at someone else’s house ..

  122. Stephanie says:

    I would love the SentrySafe Quick Access Pistol Safe to keep the gun away from the kids but easily accessible if we need it for an emergency

  123. Amber Nara says:

    Wow I had no clue there are so many diffrent styles! i want this one http://www.sentrysafe.com/Products/354/2G2500_Legal_Vertical_2-Drawer_Fire_File_25_Deep, It would be so nice to have all the important stuff always safe with no worries!!

  124. Cindy B says:

    I learned that Costco has these safes!

  125. Corinne Soto says:

    i really like hte selection of small capacity fire safes that they have. Perfect for important doctuments like birth Certificates

  126. Corey Olomon says:

    KS2100 KEEP/SAFE® FIRE CHEST

  127. Sarah says:

    I like their smaller fire safes. They’d also be nice to have as something easy to grab if we need to evacuate for a hurricane.

  128. This would be perfect for my hubs! I’d also like the Drawer Safe DS-1 for my office!

    coriwestphal at msn dot com

  129. vera says:

    Keep/Safe® -KS4100

  130. Angelia Crisp says:

    Best idea ever….I prefer the safe with th ehand scanner so no fiddleing but either way it protects the children…

  131. Karen Gonyea says:

    LOVE the 1150 White Safe too 🙂

  132. Tamar says:

    I love love love the “find your safe” functionality to help me locate exactly what I need.

  133. christine jessamine says:

    i like the KS2100 KEEP/SAFE FIRE CHEST

  134. Richard Hicks says:

    would like to have their HD2100 Waterproof Fire Chest

    brich22 at earthlink dot net

  135. Brittney House says:

    I like the key-less entry

  136. Emily says:

    I liked the fire safe

  137. Erica C. says:

    I also like the Blue Compact Safe.

  138. Jessica Rose says:

    I like the CB-12 SAFEBOX

  139. Ericka says:

    I would love to get the KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest-KS2100 for myself

  140. Sarah Davis says:

    I like that it cannot be pryed open with hands.

  141. Shirley Hicks says:

    id like to have KS2100 KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest

  142. I learned that they are really quiet! I love that!

  143. Deborah Hogue says:

    I like the Zero feedback electronic lock and the quick and whisper quiet entry

  144. Lyndsey R. says:

    I learned you can purchase SentrySafe at Walmart stores.

    Lyndsey.rullman at hotmail dot com

  145. Saver Sara says:

    I like the Fire Chests

  146. Carrie Z says:

    I also like the 1110 fire safe for important papers:)

  147. susan smoaks says:

    i would love to get the KS2100 KEEP/SAFE® Fire Chest

  148. Gilbert S says:

    i would like cb-12 safebox

  149. Alicia Heannings says:

    So much wonderful information!

  150. Angela Neynaber says:

    I want the pink fire chest.

  151. Danielle P says:

    I like the feature on their website that allows you to pick the safe that best fits your needs by answering questions.

  152. Dawn Reid says:

    I like the key-less entry

  153. Kim Reid says:

    I like the easy access and that it is safe around kids!

  154. Derek Timm says:

    I also like the SFW123CS fire safe.

  155. Dawn S. says:

    I like that it opens silently

  156. Great Stocking Stuffer.

  157. Kathy Pease says:

    i like the KS0130 KEEP/SAFE® Combination Safe

  158. Mark Johnson says:

    Sounds like a safe way (no pun intended) to kep a pistol handy for security.

  159. Breanne says:

    I like the KS2100 KEEP/SAFE Fire Chest

  160. Suzanne M says:

    Wow. I love how many options you have for customizing a safe for your personal needs!

  161. Tim Hendrix says:

    Great contest. Safety is key with weapons.

  162. Angela Cash says:

    I would love to have the Waterproof Fire Chest – HD2100.

  163. SF123CS COMBINATION FIRE-SAFE®

Add Your Comment

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.