Disney Live! Mickey’s Magic Show Review

Character Logo DL

Our family had the opportunity to attend Disney Live! Mickey’s Magic Show in Independence (Missouri) at the Events Center this past weekend!

Emma has recently become infatuated with Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, so when the opportunity to attend this show arose I eagerly accepted.

First I want to thank the Independence Events Center! This was our first time attending an event at this location.  I was very pleased with the parking accommodations and the seating. I believe this is one of the first times my back side did not fall asleep during an event. The seats were nice and soft, spaced adequately (side by side) and had almost enough leg room for my long legged daughter (instead of having to sit with her legs open she was just touching the seat in front of her with her knees). There really wasn’t a bad seat in the whole place. Our only problem (easily solved) was that we were right next to a stairwell and Ethan was viewing the stage through wire railings. We just shifted seating, but in the end he wanted back in “his seat” and didn’t mind the obstacle.

IMG_2247

Now… the show!

(all photos are a bit blurry/fuzzy… I snuck a few in to share. We weren’t supposed to though, shh!)

IMG_2250

IMG_2251 

After a brief intro and a small musical number we were immediately greeted with Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy. Both Emma & Ethan gasped and were in a trance while watching.

IMG_2258

Each little act introduced a new character and a new set of magic tricks. The tricks were fun and impressive. Most of them we couldn’t figure out how they did it… how on earth did Donald Duck just magically appear in a cage?!

Some of Emma’s favorites were there. We saw Alice, Belle, Snow White, Cinderella and Jasmine.

IMG_2252

IMG_2256

IMG_2265

Emma was a little disappointed that Daisy Duck didn’t appear, but other than that she was thrilled with the cast!

The show was in two halves with a little 15 minute intermission to stretch your legs and a potty break for the little ones. The first half was packed with new characters and kept the children’s attention a little more. The second half was short on new characters, but it had more elaborate magic tricks that kept Mom & Dad’s attention. Emma & Ethan were still interested in the show and had a great time. That was evident by the little chants in the car afterward… “Who had fun with Mickey?”… “I DID!”

IMG_2266

One of the main subjects I had an opinion on was the cost of souvenirs. I was disappointed with how much they were charging. I didn’t expect Wal-Mart prices, but they were about double what I was expecting. Take that times two and we just couldn’t justify them.

We had a slight attitude problem with Emma at the beginning of the show because she wasn’t happy with the light toys I brought from home. She wanted the big, flashy and expensive toy the vendor was displaying when he walked by. I understand… they were pretty cool. In the end we got the attitude under control, though, and had a great time.

There is still time for YOU to see Disney Live! Mickey’s Magic Show.

Knoxville Civic Auditorium Knoxville, TN

Fri, 02/18/11
07:00 PM

Knoxville Civic Auditorium Knoxville, TN

Sat, 02/19/11
04:30 PM

Patriot Center Fairfax, VA

Sun, 02/27/11
12:30 PM

Patriot Center Fairfax, VA

Sun, 02/27/11
03:30 PM

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre Lakeland, FL

Wed, 03/02/11
06:30 PM

Lakeland Center Youkey Theatre Lakeland, FL

Thu, 03/03/11
06:30 PM

Progress Energy Center’s Mahaffey Theater St Petersburg, FL

Fri, 03/04/11
03:30 PM

Progress Energy Center’s Mahaffey Theater St Petersburg, FL

Fri, 03/04/11
06:30 PM

Bank Atlantic Center Sunrise, FL

Sat, 03/05/11
02:30 PM

Bank Atlantic Center Sunrise, FL

Sat, 03/05/11
05:30 PM

St Pete Times Forum Tampa, FL

Sun, 03/06/11
02:30 PM

St Pete Times Forum Tampa, FL

Sun, 03/06/11
05:30 PM

O’Connell Center Gainesville, FL

Thu, 03/10/11
03:30 PM

O’Connell Center Gainesville, FL

Thu, 03/10/11
06:30 PM

Germain Arena Estero, FL

Fri, 03/11/11
06:30 PM

NEW UCF ARENA ORLANDO, FL

Sun, 03/13/11
02:30 PM

NEW UCF ARENA ORLANDO, FL

Sun, 03/13/11
05:30 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Thu, 03/17/11
11:00 AM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Thu, 03/17/11
07:00 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Fri, 03/18/11
11:00 AM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Fri, 03/18/11
07:00 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sat, 03/19/11
11:00 AM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sat, 03/19/11
02:00 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sat, 03/19/11
06:30 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sun, 03/20/11
11:00 AM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sun, 03/20/11
02:00 PM

The Theater at Madison Square Garden New York, NY

Sun, 03/20/11
06:30 PM

BJCC Concert Hall Birmingham, AL

Fri, 03/25/11
06:00 PM

BJCC Concert Hall Birmingham, AL

Sat, 03/26/11
01:00 PM

BJCC Concert Hall Birmingham, AL

Sat, 03/26/11
04:00 PM

Mississippi Coliseum Jackson, MS

Sun, 03/27/11
01:30 PM

North Charleston Performing Arts Center North Charleston, SC

Thu, 03/31/11
03:30 PM

Performing Arts Center North Charleston, SC

Thu, 03/31/11
06:30 PM

DPAC – Durham Performing Arts Center Durham, NC

Fri, 04/01/11
03:30 PM

DPAC – Durham Performing Arts Center Durham, NC

Fri, 04/01/11
06:30 PM

Greensboro Coliseum Complex Greensboro, NC

Sat, 04/02/11
12:30 PM

Greensboro Coliseum Complex Greensboro, NC

Sat, 04/02/11
03:30 PM

 

Disclaimer: Our family received tickets to see the show. All opinions remain 100% my own.

Comments

  1. Heather says:

    How very cool… I live in Indep and i have yet to go to the events center i really want to take dd ice skating there. Looks like a Blast though!

  2. Glad you had a great time! I love the pictures! Makes me even more excited for next month at Disney!

  3. Sara says:

    So much fun! I hope we get to go see it! My boys would love it for sure.

  4. Xenia says:

    Oh, how fun! Too bad it’s not coming near me, I think my kids would love this show! I love the picture of Emma so entranced – what a cutie!

  5. Oh I so wish they were coming to HOUSTON! Maybe next time! I would love to see this. It looks awesome! My Emma would be the same way! I love that pic of her! So cute! Disney always does amazing shows. I am so glad it was a great expereince for you all! Thanks for the great review. Now I know to spend our money on tickets the next time they come to town!

  6. Kari says:

    I didn’t even know they did a show like this…I have only heard of Disney on Ice. My son is a huge fan of Mickey and would have loved to have gone, I’ll have to keep an eye out the next time they do a tour.

  7. Brett says:

    we missed it in our area. so bummed, especially seeing your photos. i know what you mean about the $$ for souveniers!

Add Your Comment

*